F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

F4i. Wiring problem.

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2010, 11:19 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F4i. Wiring problem.

I need a little input on a problem I have.

I'm new to bikes, but not new to mechanic work so I'm trying to fix this problem myself (if I can).

I just bought a used '02 F4I. When I checked it out, I looked at everything I could, looked decent and the f1 light wasn't going off at this point. 2 days later, and it starts going off. (Blinking twice)

My first question is, can the bike some how be rigged to where the f1 light won't come on for a certain amount of time? I'm trying to figure out if the problem was there when I bought the bike or if something messed up right after I got it.

Secondly. I looked it up and the error is with the MAP sensor. it looks fairly new so I contacted the previous owner and he said it was replaced 1 year ago. Could it be bad again this early?

I was also looking around and A LOT of the wiring is wrapped in electrical tape telling me the previous owner(s) did a lot of re wiring. It also has evidence of previously having a power commander in it at one point. I know almost nothing about power commanders, but is it possible that at one point the power commander bypassed the MAP sensor, and when it was removed, the map sensor was just not hooked back up?

Previous owner said he had it for a little over a year and from what I understand, the owner before him installed, and uninstalled the power commander, so that guy had the problem, but said his mechanic fixed it at one point.

Last question, am I royally F**Ked? Lol. Should I just get rid of this bike and its problems or should I stick with it and try to figure it out. I can do mechanical work, but I am very inexperienced with complex wiring.

Any input is apreciated, please. I can take it to the dealership, but I don't want to pay more on repairs than I paid for the bike.

Old 02-02-2010, 09:35 AM