F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

F4i Dead

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2012, 11:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F4i Dead

I've been looking everywhere for solutions and havent had much luck finding my exact issues so any help here is appreciated. ill probably give too much on certain topics and not enough elsewhere. I am no mechanic and have very little experience with vehicles.

2002 cbr 600 F4i

Out for a ride with my brother and following him on the highway, i feel a loss of power. everything sounds off and feels different. I try catching up to get his attention, honking and lifting the visor to try and get his attention but his headphones are in and he takes off. i finally pull off into a lot and turn off the ignition. i check it over and when i go to start it and see if it has changed, nothing. not the bas that i am aware of, seein the high beam indicator with the high beam off on the panel.

so im not getting a fuel pump priming and i finally call my dad and tell him to bring tools to check the fuses. i remove the seat and its dark so i swap the bas fuse and i get fuel pump on and start the bike. i get it home but on the way it starts acting up again. at this point it is late so i figures ill swap all fuses for brand new ones and thatll be it. i have had no luck since.

i was getting power to the plug where the fuel pump assembly plugs into so i assumed it was a dead pump. I just replaced the fuel pump only, not the entire assembly. the relay in the trunk clicks with ignition on and kill switch toggled. i get the f1 light and it stays on. there is no second relay click after 5 seconds. i got f1 codes at 1, 2, 9, 14, and now 15 after the new pump went in.