F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

F4 vs F4i cylinder head?

  #1  
Old 07-10-2011, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 248
Default F4 vs F4i cylinder head?

- Other than the vac ports for the carbs, is the F4 cylinder head any different than the F4i?

- Where is the F4i cam sensor located?

- Can I swap the F4 single intake springs for the F4i dual intake springs?


Thanks,
Chris
 
  #2  
Old 07-10-2011, 11:15 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ
Posts: 248
Default

Found this pic on ebay. I take it that big "thing" with the wire sticking out of the head at the rear (which my F4 head does not have) is the cam sensor?

So in order to run the F4i (or RR) fuel injection I would have to convert to an F4i (or RR) cylinder head?

Will the F4i computer run without the cam sensor (on cars they just default to batch fire instead of sequential)?
 
Attached Thumbnails F4 vs F4i cylinder head?-f4icylinderhead.jpg  

Last edited by segraves1; 07-10-2011 at 11:22 PM.
  #3  
Old 07-11-2011, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 2,001
Default

No idea on the difference but yes you need to cam sensor to run the FI. Bikes and cars run very different injection setups, even still when a car looses a cam sensor and goes to batch firing the injectors thats called "limp mode" and the car runs horribly.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
mbison83
F4i - Wanted
0
11-15-2010 09:18 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: F4 vs F4i cylinder head?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.