F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Ebay fuel programmer????????

  #1  
Old 06-16-2009, 07:38 PM
Ryans CBR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 121
Default Ebay fuel programmer????????

Anyone use this thing? If it works even close to what they *claim*, it'd be worth it IMO. I'm planning on running the MotoGP exhaust and BMC race filter, but I won't put those on until I have something to tune the ECU so I don't wreck my bike.
 
  #2  
Old 06-16-2009, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 601
Default

you didn't put up a link to the specific programmer you're interested in

also, why would an exhaust or filter cause you to wreck?
 
  #3  
Old 06-16-2009, 10:18 PM
mike and ikes's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 190
Default

He's probably referring to this one called the Nitro X Fuel Commander. I saw one for an F4i yesterday on ebay.

For only $44 how can it be any good? It will probably last a few months then break apart from vibration or heat!

As far as wrecking your bike due to lack of a custom ECU I would probably recommend some nice colored rim tape instead. I've heard that if you don't have nice colored rim tape then your chances of wrecking are far higher!
 

Last edited by mike and ikes; 06-16-2009 at 10:21 PM.
  #4  
Old 06-17-2009, 02:02 AM
Ryans CBR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 121
Default

Sorry, was referring to the Nitro X Fuel commander as Mike pointed out.

I know with just about any other bike you should remap your ECU after adding aftermarket air filters/exhausts to prevent your bike from running lean/burning valves etc... Is the F4I an exception to that unwritten rule?


BTW, I do have some rim tape for the bike just waiting to go on
 
  #5  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:41 AM
cageless's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mankato, MN
Posts: 211
Default

your not gonna burn valves or run too lean by just adding a slip-on and filter but a programmer would help you get the 2+ hp out of the combo. I'd go with the Dynojet Power Commander.. just dont out bid me on the one i'm bidding on
 
  #6  
Old 06-17-2009, 10:20 AM
mike and ikes's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 190
Default

The stock ECU and sensors will be able to adjust for small variations in the amount of airflow. It has to adjust for dirty air filters! A dirty filter can cut your air intake by 10% or more. So changing out exhaust and filters are usually handled well by the stock unit.

If you are racing then by all means tweak the performance with a Power Commander. But +2 HP is hard to feel. Not worth it if you ask me. +5 or better is worth it! You'll notice that!
 
  #7  
Old 06-17-2009, 08:43 PM
Ryans CBR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 121
Default

Ok, I wasn't sure if the aftermarket filter/exhaust combo would hurt the bike or not.. I'm not really too concerned with adding much power, but the noise is a definate plus, and I need a new air filter anyways...

So anyone have experience with that programmer, or should I not waste my money?
 
  #8  
Old 08-03-2009, 08:29 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Utah
Posts: 20
Default It works

I had to try it. Old bike nothing to lose. Just bought this 2002 CBR 600 a few months ago. the guy who owned it put a carbon exhaust and K&N filter and modded the box. While i was getting used to it , i thought a few things were funny. It just wasn't hitting as hard as a sport bike should on the down shift and the pick up, I took it to Honda and was told that all my mods were actually lowering performance. The guy actually recommended a power commander, not for performance gain specifically, but to make the mods run properly. No way was I going to spend $300 on an old bike i payed 2K for in the first place, so i bought the ebay mod.

It worked.... the first few settings i tried dint do much but i ifinally found one that did everything i needed. I still need to re gear to get rid of that annoying lag at take off. [hate slipping the clutch just to get instant response] mpg went from 48 to 43 or so, and it has more throttle.

Who knows, it could blow up tomorrow....but it works
 
  #9  
Old 08-03-2009, 10:27 PM
Ryans CBR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 121
Default

keep us updated! I don't have the F4i anymore, but I'd be willing to try it out on the 600rr!
 
  #10  
Old 08-03-2009, 10:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Default

Originally Posted by Ryans CBR View Post
keep us updated! I don't have the F4i anymore, but I'd be willing to try it out on the 600rr!
Yea, now you got me interested
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Ebay fuel programmer????????


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.