F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Drive Chain Issues

  #1  
Old 09-25-2009, 11:35 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Default Drive Chain Issues

Hey all,

I bought my '02 F4i from a private seller in Dec. 08 and my drive chain had the appropriate slack. I got new tires about three months ago and about two months later I decided to check the slack in the drive chain again and there was about 3" of slack. Last week was bike week in OC, MD so I knew I had to get this taken care of by then so I had the drive chain adjusted to approx. 3/4" of slack. When I returned from bike week, approx. 600 miles later, I now have 3" of slack again. Any ideas?

The guy who I bought the bike from said that he put an oversized sprocket on it and I know that this will require more chain adjustments but every 600 miles, really?
 
  #2  
Old 09-25-2009, 11:44 AM
PlayfulGod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dalton, GA
Posts: 6,026
Default

actually you need to check it every time you ride and it could need adjustment approx every 300 miles
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-2009, 11:53 AM
2H company's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OC So~Cal
Posts: 322
Default

No, bigger sprocket can't change the slack to 3" !!

You should prolly check the rear adjusters on the swing arm, only this might cause such a problem, imo. The chain can't change its length (just a bit when gets warmed up), the sprockets can't move for sure (I hope they aren't ).
 
  #4  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:14 PM
PlayfulGod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dalton, GA
Posts: 6,026
Default

Originally Posted by 2H company View Post
No, bigger sprocket can't change the slack to 3" !!

You should prolly check the rear adjusters on the swing arm, only this might cause such a problem, imo. The chain can't change its length (just a bit when gets warmed up), the sprockets can't move for sure (I hope they aren't ).
+1 it sounds like the axle bolt isnt been tightened enough.
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:28 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks for the insight. The chain wear indicator says 'Replace Chain' so hopefully a new chain will resolve the issue. I'll check the torque on the Axle bolt to make sure that the shop is doing their job correctly. I've questioned their expertise in the past.
 
  #6  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:35 PM
PlayfulGod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dalton, GA
Posts: 6,026
Default

I always do mine myself. Make sure to change the sprockets too
 
  #7  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Aliso Viejo, California
Posts: 55
Default

Is that "replace chain" indicator really accurate? I have 14,000 miles on mine and it is not even near the replace area?
 
  #8  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:50 PM
2H company's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OC So~Cal
Posts: 322
Default

Ohhh that's a good point. What's the torque for those axle adjusters?
 
  #9  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:54 PM
2H company's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OC So~Cal
Posts: 322
Default

Originally Posted by Da11en47 View Post
Is that "replace chain" indicator really accurate? I have 14,000 miles on mine and it is not even near the replace area?
It always depends on your riding style and how much effort you put when doing chain maintenance.

But also look at the physical state. Mine isn't in the "replace" area, although I wanna change it. Some rust on the inside, looks like previous owner didn't take a good care.
 
  #10  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:54 PM
PlayfulGod's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dalton, GA
Posts: 6,026
Default

Originally Posted by Da11en47 View Post
Is that "replace chain" indicator really accurate? I have 14,000 miles on mine and it is not even near the replace area?
its fairly accurate, the mileage estimated for how long a chain last is whats not accuate
Originally Posted by 2H company View Post
Ohhh that's a good point. What's the torque for those axle adjusters?
The adjusters dont have a torque but the axle itself does Check your manual for the specs
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Drive Chain Issues


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.