F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Drain Bolt Stuck..

  #1  
Old 12-13-2009, 01:45 AM
BASEtotheFACE's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 29
Default Drain Bolt Stuck..

I was gunna give my bike an oil change like it should be done every 3k.
it seems as tho i cant get the drain bolt loose i dont have metric socket set i know its a 12mm which i equate to 1/2 SAE but the dam bolt wont come off
tried a wrench to take it off nd it some wat started stripping the nut head so i immediately stop nd said fck it took 10 mins to calm down nd tried again with both socket wrench and reg. hand wrench but again started slippin on the nutt and started strippin it
Im at a loss plz help
Thanx!
 

Last edited by BASEtotheFACE; 12-13-2009 at 01:47 AM. Reason: cant speel :P
  #2  
Old 12-13-2009, 03:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
Default

try spray wd40 and use the wrench again or plyers. wd40 will help loosen it up.
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-2009, 03:43 AM
November 2009 ROTM
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 956
Default

1.Go buy a new pair of Vice -Grips with good jaws on them.
2.Wipe of all wet stuff,apply the V-G rips,put a 1" pipe on the grip & slowly undo it anti clockwise.
3.If your anything like me,sounds like you are- by the way,walk around your street asking for the tools youv'e thrown.......lol.

Seriously,if the Head is R/S on the bolt not much will loosen it without snapping it clean off.

Just my 2c
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-2009, 05:11 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by BASEtotheFACE View Post
I was gunna give my bike an oil change like it should be done every 3k.
it seems as tho i cant get the drain bolt loose i dont have metric socket set i know its a 12mm which i equate to 1/2 SAE but the dam bolt wont come off
tried a wrench to take it off nd it some wat started stripping the nut head so i immediately stop nd said fck it took 10 mins to calm down nd tried again with both socket wrench and reg. hand wrench but again started slippin on the nutt and started strippin it
Im at a loss plz help
Thanx!

First of all, buy the 12mm. It's a metric bike. You're gonna need the tools.

As noted, try some WD40, but it may be difficult to get the stuff into the threads, since it won't run uphill.

If you have a butane torch, lightly heat the area around the bolt, but not the bolt itself. Get it warm to the touch, tap the end of the bolt a couple of times with a ballpeen, then try again.

Did I mention get the right size socket? <g>
 
  #5  
Old 12-13-2009, 11:10 AM
Zero1080's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,185
Default

Since I made the BEST decision of my life, and bought a 35 dollar torque wrench, even though I don't know exactly how to use it yet, Oh my god does it make getting "stuck" bolts out easy. Takes about 10 extra seconds to walk over and pick it up, and takes the bolt right out.
 
  #6  
Old 12-13-2009, 11:38 AM
BASEtotheFACE's Avatar
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 29
Default

ya i know i need the metric tool set, just like the rest of the ppl in the US right now i currently unemployed, so spending money has to be done thirftly (yes i dont know how to speel god dam american school system) ill check out the WD-40, then ill walk down my street nd see if anybody has a torque wrench, thanks for the 2 cents guys ill check it out nd see what i can do,
keep ya posted
thanks
 
  #7  
Old 12-13-2009, 12:28 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 861
Default

First of all (Berto said it) you NEED the right tools. 1/2 is NOT 12mm. actually it's right inbetween 12and 13mm more like 12.5mm, which will strip the bolt. Might work fine for a loose bolt, but not a tight one. Second of all DO NOT use a torque wrench to EVER break loose a bolt, it will ruin your specialized ratchet that is designed and intended to TIGHTEN bolts to a specific torque, hence the name "torque wrench". To break loose stubborn nuts and bolts use a "breaker bar" it looks kinda like a ratchet but doesn't "ratchet". Its a straight bar with a socket attachment on it the slides from one end to the other. But you shouldn't need that, all you need is a 12mm socket that you can get at autozone for a couple bucks, unless you f*cked up the bolt head, then you'll need some vise grips. And when you put everything back together (this is when you need the torque wrench) the bolt should be torqued to 40 ft. lbs. Good luck.
 
  #8  
Old 12-13-2009, 02:29 PM
Incognito's Avatar
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,907
Default

Drain Plug ~ 22 Ft. Lbs.
 
  #9  
Old 12-13-2009, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by skoobydoobie View Post
First of all (Berto said it) you NEED the right tools. 1/2 is NOT 12mm. actually it's right inbetween 12and 13mm more like 12.5mm, which will strip the bolt. Might work fine for a loose bolt, but not a tight one. Second of all DO NOT use a torque wrench to EVER break loose a bolt, it will ruin your specialized ratchet that is designed and intended to TIGHTEN bolts to a specific torque, hence the name "torque wrench". To break loose stubborn nuts and bolts use a "breaker bar" it looks kinda like a ratchet but doesn't "ratchet". Its a straight bar with a socket attachment on it the slides from one end to the other. But you shouldn't need that, all you need is a 12mm socket that you can get at autozone for a couple bucks, unless you f*cked up the bolt head, then you'll need some vise grips. And when you put everything back together (this is when you need the torque wrench) the bolt should be torqued to 40 ft. lbs. Good luck.
Right about the torque wrench. Glad you posted it. There's no reason a torque wrench will remove a bolt that a breaker bar or drive won't.

These kids today...<g>
 
  #10  
Old 12-13-2009, 03:09 PM
Zero1080's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,185
Default

^Hey, I don't have a breaker bar. But my torque wrench has an option to not "ratchet" and that's what I use. I should have been more specific. More leverage basically. 13 inches or 6, which is better?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Drain Bolt Stuck..


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.