F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

brake stuck when parked for a while??

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2014, 11:00 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default brake stuck when parked for a while??

twice now after leaving my bike parked for a while it wouldn't just roll out of the garage. When I tried to roll it "backwards" the suspension just compressed. Both times I had to sort of jerk it backwards and then I heard a pop followed by a metal on metal friction sound that I guess is coming from the front wheel. What's causing this? I'm still new to motorcycles and I probably missed some maintenance that I need.

I know I have a bad fork seal. I probably need to top up the brake fluid on my front brake but I don't really know how or if they need to be bled or not. besides that I don't know of anything wrong. Is this something I should be concerned about?

Last edited by theadamie; 03-15-2014 at 11:18 AM.
Old 03-15-2014, 05:13 PM
Welcome Crew Technician
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Done any maintence on the brakes since you got it? This sounds like a stuck piston to me. When you are pulling it into its final destination are you pulling the front brakes? Determine what brake is sticking first. Also, you do not notice anything when riding?

I would pop off your front calipers and check that the pistons are operation correctly. After checking, just go ahead and clean them since you have them off. Check the rotors as well. We can all not be very sure of how PO's cared for bikes. We can only do the proper maint when we have them.

How does your lever feel? Is it spongy? How much pull is in the lever? How much pull from fully out to engage? Then when fully engaged, how far from the bar?

The spongy feeling is going to indicate air in your bleed lines. Possibly a bad bleed valve, possibly bad brake lines. Could also indidcate fualty master cylinder. All just a bunch of coulds though untill you determine what is doing what and the best way to do that is get it apart.