F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Bike doesnt Auto Choke

  #1  
Old 11-20-2010, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 104
Default Bike doesnt Auto Choke

Hey guys, shortly after i bought my bike i realized it doesnt auto choke like it should, it runs pretty good but the FPR may be going. Would the FPR cause the auto choke not to work? The bike starts up and idles at like 1500 and then drops to 1300 at around 100 degrees

Bike also hesitates below like 2000, i figured this was normal but my most recent tank of gas got like 90 miles.. not sure if it was because my oil was slightly over filled or what but if it still sucks after this next tank i know for sure at least my FPR is gone.

EDIT: bike is an 02 with just over 16k on it
 
  #2  
Old 11-20-2010, 04:38 AM
Kuroshio's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Philly, PA!
Posts: 4,476
Default

I'm lost a bit. What you describe on the RPM is normal for a cold bike and your RPMs when warm are at spec. And not sure what you mean by autochoke
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-2010, 07:35 AM
xricer's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SW Ontario, Canada
Posts: 162
Default

My 02 cold idles at about 3k then drops to about 1300 rpm. ??
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-2010, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 104
Default

Originally Posted by Kuroshio View Post
I'm lost a bit. What you describe on the RPM is normal for a cold bike and your RPMs when warm are at spec. And not sure what you mean by autochoke
AFAIK the auto choke ( wax unit ) should go way above 1500 RPMS to warm up, it should be 2500-3000 until the temp gets to 100 then slowly drop to spec, mine starts cold between 1300-1500.
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-2010, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 2,024
Default

Where the bike idles at depends on how cold it is. On a 115* day in Phoenix my bikes starts and stays at hot idle speed of 1300. In the winter when its 50* outside it will start and idle at 2K or more before dropping down when the gauge starts reading a temp.
 
  #6  
Old 11-20-2010, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: morris county, nj
Posts: 135
Default

id replace the fpr, if its running rich its gonna cause the engine to hesitant off idle, and it may fix the issue with the autochoke
 
  #7  
Old 11-20-2010, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 104
Default

Originally Posted by boredandstroked View Post
Where the bike idles at depends on how cold it is. On a 115* day in Phoenix my bikes starts and stays at hot idle speed of 1300. In the winter when its 50* outside it will start and idle at 2K or more before dropping down when the gauge starts reading a temp.
I kind of figured that, during the summer the bike started at 1300, now in 40-50 degree weather it will start at like 1500. I have started it when its been plenty plenty cold for it to really kick in and never seen it go above 1500.


Is their a way to tell if the FPR is bad for sure before i just go replacing $60 parts lol?
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-2010, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: morris county, nj
Posts: 135
Default

yeah, attach a gauge to the service check bolt, and if the psi is below 50 when u start it, it could be the fpr, clogged fuel filter, bad pump, or bad hose. if higher, the pump, fpr, or return line is messed up. also disconnect the vacuum line to the fpr, and plug it. this is according to the manual
 
  #9  
Old 11-20-2010, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 104
Default

Originally Posted by bluedevil3758 View Post
yeah, attach a gauge to the service check bolt, and if the psi is below 50 when u start it, it could be the fpr, clogged fuel filter, bad pump, or bad hose. if higher, the pump, fpr, or return line is messed up. also disconnect the vacuum line to the fpr, and plug it. this is according to the manual
Damn i would have to buy a vacuum gauge, i guess ill just replace the FPR.. im pretty damn sure its never been replaced and if its the original one from 02 with 16k i would imagine its done for.

I hope it fixes the auto choke issue, i mostly want to see it just because i always thought auto choke was cool lol.

Thanks for the responses guys, in my searching i could not find anyone else with a problem like this.
 
  #10  
Old 11-21-2010, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Saint Paul Minnesota
Posts: 731
Default

I never heard of a auto choke. Most ecu's run off what is called the IAT(Intake Air Temperature). It reads the temp and then adjust the map according to the settings. After awhile it will slowly bring the idle down since it knows its in a more safe zone. Why they didn't put lights flashing saying "do not ride" until reaching a certain operation temperature is beyond me. It's like cars as well. In the winter you can't just jump in and drive. In fact most people use over drive and shouldn't. That's by far the hardest thing on it..over drive..everyone forgets about it.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Bike doesnt Auto Choke


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.