F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

Axle Nut

  #1  
Old 10-14-2009, 07:23 PM
Junior2552's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 570
Default Axle Nut

What is the purpose of adjusting the axle nut to 69 ft lbs? A friend and I just tightened mine by hand, without a torque wrench, but gave it some pretty hard tugs. Am I hurting anything by tightening it down so much without the reference? Am I gonna bust wheel bearings or anything??
 
  #2  
Old 10-14-2009, 07:55 PM
Joey_f4i's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 436
Default

I'm guessing that Honda has set these torque nut and bolt parameters so that you don't over-torque and strip threads, or under-torque and have bolts come lose with engine vibration.

Get a torque wrench at pep-boys or auto-zone for $30-$35 bones and take the guess work out of it.
For the peace of mind, and so you can put the worries at rest.
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-2009, 07:55 PM
Incognito's Avatar
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,907
Default

Everything has a torque value to it, but if you don't have a torque wrench, what are you gonna do? Pretty hard tugs is about 69 lbs. You'll be fine.
Hey, look at that; same time, lol.
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-2009, 07:57 PM
dave ls1's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 538
Default

metal likes to be told what to do.
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-2009, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 601
Default

you'll be fine
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-2009, 08:13 PM
Junior2552's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 570
Default

Thanks guys, I mean we weren't like standing on the wrench to tighten it down, but he's a big dude and gave it some yanks until he couldn't move it anymore. So at least i know it's snug! haha, is that okay?
 
  #7  
Old 10-14-2009, 09:59 PM
Incognito's Avatar
Official CBRF Welcome Crew Undercover Agent
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Colorado, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,907
Default

Well, it's like lug nuts on a tire. I'm sure the manuals list a given torque for them, but have you ever seen anyone actually torque lug nuts? The difference is, obviously on the bike you've only got one nut which holds the axle on, so if it where me, I'd suggest thinking about getting a torque wrench. As stated earlier, simple beam type torque wrenches are inexpensive yet effective.
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:42 AM
2H company's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: OC So~Cal
Posts: 322
Default

I'd totally agree on getting the torque wrench. Maybe it's just me, but knowing that the axle is not gonna fail me gives me peace of mind.
And you will need it, sooner or later.
 
  #9  
Old 10-15-2009, 05:07 AM
usetheffours's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: indy, in
Posts: 330
Default

If you have a Harbor Freight tool store around, you can get the same torque wrench they sell at autozone or similar stores for $20. Thats wear I got mine. It is worth not worrying about it.
 
  #10  
Old 10-15-2009, 09:41 AM
Junior2552's Avatar
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 570
Default

As a matter of fact, there is a harbor freight by me! Haha, I'll have to go wandering through there one of these days. Thanks guys!
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Axle Nut


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.