F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

AFTER A CRASHED BIKE AND CASTED FOOT

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2008, 11:56 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AFTER A CRASHED BIKE AND CASTED FOOT

so heres the thing, i got a very very good deal on a sexy 04 f4i with no miles i rode here for about 3 months then one day after leaving my shop i was crusing home and slid out in some gravel and crashed into a curb, resulting in a twisted front end and busted rearset. now the bike can be repaired, infact im fixing it right now with a bright orange cast on my foot that was broken in 5 spots. i think ill live, but what i want to put out there is are there any good methods to getting back on the horse after a crash??
i never thought that it would get into my head like it has, now im no newbie, been riding my whole life but im not motogp racer either but dealing with the effects of the crash have been rough. are there some words of wisdom to getting back into the saddle??? or any advice some senior riders can dish out??
im not hanging up my helmet or anything but it does have my confidence shaken alittle ya know?
has this happened to any of you?
any close calls? share your stories and advice here!

-radvoem
ride safe, ride smart

Old 06-28-2008, 12:20 PM
Default RE: AFTER A CRASHED BIKE AND CASTED FOOT

I would say just take it easy at first when you get back on it. Nerves are normal....after a while you will build that confidence again.

Old 06-28-2008, 12:51 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've crashed a few times, in different ways, from 5mph to 50mph. Touch wood though, no big functional problems for me or my bike bcos of the crashes. The first time hurts the most mentally. Guilt and panic and all that good stuff! Plus the scratches on the baby. Let it pass... Get yourself healthy first!