F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

2001 600F4i maintenance/upgrades...

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2013, 06:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 600F4i maintenance/upgrades...

hey i just bought a bone stock 2001 600F4i with 13,400 miles on it. I live in Newport News, VA. Love the bike so far. I know my way around car mechanics but im sure a bike is a bit different. Bike has cracked fairings on one side not too bad, bike took a skid according to seller. i know fairings can be replaced not to worried about that. the bike felt mechanically....awesome. but im a newb to riding so i could have not noticed some things. any suggestions on the things to check on and maintain or change/upgrade being the bike is used? i just ordered a set of roadmasters 2, being that the tires that came with bike were worn out. Thanks for the help and advice in advance

Old 02-13-2013, 07:51 AM

F4I's are notorious for cam chain tensioner issues (CCTL). You'll know when it needs replacing when you get tinny rattling at certain RPMS.

I'm like you, I'm a car guy, and I think my knowledge of cars gets me by just fine with the bike. Pretty straightforward stuff. The only area I've had to read up on or acquire some specialized knowledge was suspension tuning, but there are plenty of good reads out there for that.

Old 02-13-2013, 09:06 AM

First off, congratulations on the bike purchase! All I suggest is take it slow at first don't think about mods just yet! You control the bike, not the other way around.

Check your spark plugs, air filter, and change your fluids if needed (oil, brake, coolant).

Make sure you check your tire pressure every week or even every time before you ride. Impacts everything about the bike, like a car.

Also, lube the chain every couple hundred miles. Standard maintenance. Remember to lube the chain when it is warm (after a ride) but let the lube sit (I usually just let it sit overnight) or else it just gets flung off!

Originally Posted by bamato