F4i - Main Forum Main F4i discussion board

02 F4i throttle?

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2007, 10:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 F4i throttle?

I was wandering what kind of play the throttle is supposed to have . When i go to twist the throttle its takes about 3/4 of a turn before it actually revs at all. When your sitting still you can twist the throttle back and forth a little bit before the rpms start going up. Is this normal????

When i put my new grips on they were about 1/2 inch short and now the bar ends dont meet with the grip.
Also when i tighten the bar ends the ends just spin, the screw is tight but if you turn with some pressure the bar end just spins and it doesnt stay tight for too long after riding. Could i have messed something up when removing them to put the new grips on. Are the bar ends meant for a specific side( onefor the left and one for the right??) Please help me im a newb at this do it yourself stuff!!

Old 11-02-2007, 11:07 PM
Default RE: 02 F4i throttle?

Bar ends:
-if they where stock they didn't need to come off
-I don't think your inserts spinning should cause a problem, but use red loctite on the fasteners
grips
- I think they just aren't stected. If it was ok before they should be alright now
-I use a gas for a lubricant plus it helps them stick when it drys. I also use compressd air to inflate them as I push them on. you can do it with out the air, but it is quicker. I think you just museled them on and bunch them up in the process.
Throttle play
- not sure of the spec, but it should be just enough to accommadate expansion contraction. I would call it 3/32
-haven't adjusted mine yet (it needs to be done though) but I bet its under the tank for that much adjustment. Check manual, but if the is a adjustment on the clamp-ons I doubt it is enough for the kind of adjustment you are talking about. Lift the front of the tank and find where they attach to the thottle bodies and it should be obvios what you need to do.