F2 Tech Tech Subsection (for any mechanical, repair, and DIY threads)

2 questions: oil changes & overall height

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2012, 01:38 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2 questions: oil changes & overall height

Ok so I'm new to riding and posting in forums so excuse my curiosity.
What it comes down to is just a couple of concers I've had:

1) Am I supposed to check the oil while the bike is upright or on it's sidestand. It's the difference between being completely level and...well not being completely level.
Also how much am I supposed to put in it? (I think it's 3.3-3.4 quarts) but since 1993 isn't exactly modern it's hard to find a good manual. Even the Hynes manual doen't completely explain it and the online service manual doesn't cover oil changes.

2) My brother (the previous owner) has already lowered the seat and since I'm not the tallest guy around want it lower so I don't have to tiptoe around stoplights but am under the impression that forcfully lowering it affects handling...? This I just need opinions and ideas greater than my own which is sadly lacking in expertise.

Any help is greatly appreciated!! Thanks!!

Old 10-29-2012, 06:04 AM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Always check the oil with the bike off the side stand and level. If your putting oil in, make sure its motorcycle oil formulated for wet clutches

Lowering a bike changes the geometry from how the bike was designed. Doing this has some affect on handling. Unless your a fairly experienced rider, you probably won't notice. Not being able to touch the ground is a safety issue and is more important in my book.

Old 10-29-2012, 09:34 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts