CBR 954RR 2002 - 2003 - CBR 954RR Forum

Pump primes, relay clicks, wont turn over

  #1  
Old 04-27-2019, 12:46 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Default Pump primes, relay clicks, wont turn over

Hey guys, picked up an 02 cbr954rr. Replaced charging system, ie battery, rectifier, and stator after it died on me. Now it will not crank over, it just clicks from the starter solenoid/relay. My thoughts are..is it possible to misinstall the stator to freeze up the starter? I hooked 12v to the starter and it sounds like the apendature is moving in there. There is some buildup inside the starter solenoid but nothing that I think would fault it. Another thing is when I go to crank it over my battery voltage drops to 5v or so, which is crazy low. All fuses good. Any advice helps
 

Last edited by Dave Groman; 04-27-2019 at 01:12 PM.
  #2  
Old 04-27-2019, 01:35 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 8,011
Default

Does the motor turn over by hand?
 
  #3  
Old 04-27-2019, 06:25 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Default

I'm sure it does, it was running last week
 
  #4  
Old 04-27-2019, 09:59 PM
74demon's Avatar
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: socal 949/951
Posts: 8,011
Default

But does it turn by hand now?
 
  #5  
Old 04-30-2019, 10:37 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Default

Okay, so after loosening the stator cover.. it would seem that I tightened it down too far and froze up the starter gear inside. I am not sure how it is possible, but it is. It turns over but does not start. I also recently replaced the servo, and released the flapper in the intake, as it was tapped down. What is a good setting for the Idle adjust screw? I am trying to find links and write ups on the servo install and adjustment to no avail. Mine is in and hooked up, but u must adjust them out to take them out. New plugs n battery, pump primes. Gonna go jump it w my truck battery now to be sure I didnt get a faulty one
 
  #6  
Old 04-30-2019, 11:33 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, loosened the stator cover more after there was no change from the jump. Fired up, n dialed in the idle to about 1100. Guess we will see what the servo does on a test ride. Code 35 mil is out. Sounds to be running well after shooting out a crapload of white smoke. It's difficult to find neutral tho, any thoughts?
 
  #7  
Old 04-30-2019, 02:38 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 5
Default

Was out for about 2 hrs, ran great! Well from what I can tell living in pgh. How thick is that gasket supposed to be on the stator? Damn. I used gasket paper thicker than OEM, and it still bottoms out the starter when tightened down to what I would call sealed
 
  #8  
Old 05-01-2019, 12:05 AM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Lancs ,UK
Posts: 2,519
Default

Hi Dave, did you remove the rotor when you inspected and replaced the alternator?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
stuntbikehavingproblems
F4i - Main Forum
8
07-14-2018 12:14 PM
djdjsaiaf
F4i - Main Forum
4
02-13-2013 06:05 PM
KingKong8247
CBR 600F4
15
11-14-2011 08:35 PM
blackhawk411
F4i - Main Forum
20
12-30-2008 11:47 PM
hedtrip
General Tech
5
10-14-2008 09:04 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Pump primes, relay clicks, wont turn over


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.