Taking Off ?!

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2006, 09:32 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Taking Off ?!

OK as everyone knows who's been checkin' out my posts Im new to the street bike world.. I;m a girl 5ft.3in bought my first REAL bike, pick it up next week.. Which brings me to my question.... Taking off in first gear on the RR, what's it like?? CAn you ride this bike like a nromal bike (you know like a cruiser or something) untiL i;M USED TO THE WAY IT PURRS!!! i WANT TO BE ABLE TO GET A FEEL FOR SHIFTING THIS BIKE VERSUS A DIRT BIKE WHICH IS WHAT i;VE RIDEN....

Old 04-28-2006, 10:48 AM
Default RE: Taking Off ?!

I am new to this too, but from my 2 week experience i can say that is not hard but you have to be carefull with the throttle. The gas is very "touchy" so just take it easy at first learning how to control the gas and you'll be ok.
Thats my opinion if anyone disagrees with me or has another perspective let me know.

Old 04-28-2006, 11:51 AM

slow smooth clutch and gas combination...like mixing koolaid..mix it to fast you will spill it...to much gas with a popped clutch will do the same..but like i was told in the MSC the 5 friction zones of the clutch...start counting when u first feel the slightest engaging

Old 04-28-2006, 12:06 PM

slvr600RR congrads on the bike damn i still dont have mine lol I love you sig =P Ive only rode once and its not that much diff from a dirtbike (to me) but you HAVE to remember this has ALOT more power dont get cocky to fast and you'll be ok =P good luck!

Old 04-28-2006, 02:28 PM

SteveO nailed it ..mix it like kool aid..its a bit tricky at first..when you do get the bkie home..go to a parking lot and get the feel for it for a few hrs..starts and stops...it unlike anything ive ever riddne before and thats what makes it soo addciting..

Old 04-28-2006, 07:33 PM