Rear Brake wont illuminate brake light

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2006, 05:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear Brake wont illuminate brake light

Hey, I have a 2005 600RR. I noticed the other night that when i used my rear brake it didn't illuminate the rear brake light. The front still does of course, but not the rear. I checked for any wires that could have come loose but I didn't see any. Anyone had this problem before? If anyone could tell me how to trouble shoot it myself i'd really apreciate. Thanks

Old 08-24-2006, 05:45 PM
Default RE: Rear Brake wont illuminate brake light

How did you check for loose wires? Did you actually take off the rear cowl and check the brake light connector? Try checking your rear brake pedal adjuster, maybe it's off a bit.

Old 08-24-2006, 08:53 PM

Hey whats up man, I'm to the site and the whole bike thing, but i have little experience in the mechancle field. On your rear brake pedal their is a spring that controls the switch for the rear brake take a look at your spring to see if its even their or if it fell off. When I first got my bike everything worked but when i took to the inspection station i failed for the rear brakes inop. I guess from unloading off the trailer or my foot hitting by accident knocked that spring off. Its an easy check.

Old 08-24-2006, 08:54 PM