Engine Buzz

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2007, 09:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine Buzz

I totalled my CBR 600RR in June and just got a replacement bike a little over a week ago. I have about 200 miles on it now and I am noticing a buzz between 5000 and 6000 RPM that I do not remember on my old bike at all. I have not taken it to the 600 mile service yet or talked with the dealer or any professional mechanic about it yet. But I am not a techie or terribly knowledgeable about motorcycle engines in general. I have read that the old Kawasaki Concourses had buzzy engines and that such was just the nature of the bike. I have not read anything about the 2007 CBR 600RR having a buzzy engine though. I also have no idea what a buzz in an engine that only turns up at a certain rev range could be. This buzz is definitely a supplementary sound to the brisk, high pitched hum of the CBR engine at idle or the roar of the CBR at redline. It is definitely something else. I am not sure if the buzz actually goes away at 7000 RPM or if it just gets drowned out by the roar of the engine as it enters the midrange power band.

Any of you guys got any idea what this could be? Valves maybe? Maybe just an idiosyncracy of my particular engine that is unfixable but will never cause problems? Or is there something I should be worrying about? Should I just wait until the 600-mile service? Or should I get it to the dealer right away?

Hope you guys can help.

Old 07-29-2007, 09:51 PM
Default RE: Engine Buzz

my 07 buzzes too.
if it is the buzz that i am thinking of it is totally normal

there is a write up on 600rr.net about it
you have to remove the tank cover and use something like dynomat to quiet it down.
it is just plastics rattling due to engine vibration

you really arent taking it to the dealer for the 600 miles service are you?
200+ for a oil change is pretty steep

Old 07-29-2007, 10:26 PM