'05 Sprocket HELP PLEASE PLEASE :-)

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 12:53 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '05 Sprocket HELP PLEASE PLEASE :-)

I just bought a 2005 Honda CBR 600RR (7400 miles). I love the dam thing and have had it for about 3 weeks and already put over 1000 miles on it, it now has 8800. I am a little bit of a speed demon andI also like to stunt a little bit. (I drift and drag race cars so it is only naturalI do the same with a bike) I am still new to terms and new to the 2-wheel side of engines but I am just starting to get into bikes and I want to make my CBR do a power wheelie in2nd gear while sitting.I am a little worried when standing on the bike and doing wheelies... (I don't have the stability thatI do whenI am sitting) 1st gear is easy just gas to ~15mph let off and then full throttle and upI go... I want that same "easyness" but less throttle response... hence the 2nd gear part... SOOOO how doI do this...

*** Keep in mind... I do ride on the highway a little bit so I WILL be changing out the sprokets for that so that isn't so important ***

What I know for sure:

- in the front (more accel)
+ in the back (more accel)
o-ring chains is a must... x-ring is even better
everyone says -1 front +2 rear
change it all at once for proper wear
-1 front = +2.77 back

What I want to know for sure:

why go with 520 size(lighter than the 525... but less stronger, for hard clutch dumps right???)
aluminium vs. steel sprockets (alum is ligther, steel last longer??)
WHAT BRAND OF STUFF!!!(I hear vortex is the 1 to get but thenI hear it's crap... .. BK chains??? please give me all feed back)
how much top speed loss and how much MPG loss (with the -1/+2 top speed is now 140... is whatI found, but not sure)
whats thetorque specs of the sprokets andsuch (axle and anything else I would have to take apart for changing)
*******and anything elseI ammissing*********