CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

What is this toggle switch

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2005, 03:57 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is this toggle switch

I bought this 2000 cbr F4 and was changing the spark plugs cuz it seems to be running rough when I rev it up a little. I figured a plug could be bad, but I'm not a pro. I know cars pretty well, but never messed with a bike. I notice this toggle switch mounted on the black intake pipe just before in goes under the gas take on the right side. Is it stock or did someone install something I wonder. I didn't mess with it, but maybe it is a kill swich. I noticed some oil on plug number 4 that i pulled out. Maybe the plug got oil fouled, but it is too late now to rev the bike up to see if it is fixed. Just curious bout the toggle switch.

[IMG]local://upfiles/2822/D8918C3B7CEB4BDCA18FC11274AB3206.jpg[/IMG]

Old 09-19-2005, 04:24 AM
Default RE: What is this toggle switch

Dude that is not factory! I dont know what it is. [sm=nxsmile.gif] possibly and a toggle switch for the silenoid. I dont know

Old 09-19-2005, 10:24 PM

My first guess would be a kill switch. Depending on where they lived they might have been worried about someone stealing it. Check it out and see where the wires go. Better yet flick the switch and see what it does. It could also be a switch to turn the electric fan on manualy. Some people do this because from the factory the bike has to get pretty hot before the fan will turn on. Just check the wires out and see where they go. Don't be afraid. Hope this helps.

Old 09-20-2005, 01:40 AM

Could be a kill switch for the lights. Very handy when trying to avoid the po-po after you've been bad. This mod is typically accompanied by a questionably placed license plate.

Old 09-20-2005, 07:59 PM