CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

Out of the ashes rises...a reborn F4?

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2012, 02:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Out of the ashes rises...a reborn F4?

OK, a little dramatic, perhaps. It wasn't a basket case when I bought it, but it certainly hadn't been shown the kind of care that I give my bikes. I'd like to document the rebuild of my bike in this thread as it happens...hopefully, this is of value to someone, and not an entirely selfish exercise.

I should probably introduce myself first, since I'm a new member. My name is Ben...I have been riding motorcycles for 20+ years, and I've had just about every type -- cruisers, standards, sport bikes, dual sports. I owned a 1995 CBR600F3 when it was new, and though I moved on, I always missed that bike. My initial plan was to pick up another F3, as I missed my old, errr, "vintage" bike. After lurking around for a bit, I decided an F4 would be a better choice.

The hunt began...

Old 08-31-2012, 02:12 PM
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Good to see that you started this thread Ben. :-) Let the "documentation" begin!

Old 08-31-2012, 02:49 PM

So in case you couldn't tell from my screen name (got_the_bug), I am not particularly patient after I have thoroughly researched something...like, if the perfect bike had been in my garage immediately after I had made up my mind, that would have been great. However, I practiced some restraint as I scoured the local (and not so local) Craigslist offerings. What I learned from this exercise was that a number of people are truly nuts. As in, no, your '95 F3 in relatively poor shape is not worth $4500. And seriously, can you construct a sentence? What you've written in your ad looks like a text message typed by a third grader having a seizure...lol, omg, lol.