CBR 600F4 1999 - 2000 Honda CBR 600F4 Forum

CCT And Valve train help needed

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2009, 06:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CCT And Valve train help needed

Hello,I am somewhat new here and I have a few questions about the cct and valves them selves.My 99 F4 is starting to tick a little.I have no powerloss and starting does not seem to be a issuse.It ticks no more or no less cold or warm.The bike has around 17000 miles or so.I know there is a lot of threads on this but I cant seem to find one that fits.It sounds like the rattle you get from ohv fourcylinders w/high mileage.Now while your ridding if you level out at say four thousand or so it stops.Sometimes I start it and I hear nothing sometimes it ticks right away.The bike has been rode hard but maintained.I have a timing advance six degree I think full akrapovic exhaust,k&n filter,stage two jet kit.But none of this was a problem in the past.Could the valves be to tight at this point?Or does this sound more like a cct?I feel I could adjust the valves myself after reading everyone in here tell how easy it is.So thats my next question is it really that easy?And lets just say that all of you lean to the valves being the issue is there anything I should look for inside the valve train in regaurds to wear or damage that the book may not tell me about?If most think its the cct I would like to get an adjustable one is that hard to adjust?And do you have to keep adjusting it?Thanks to all who give there advise.I can keep up when it comes to mechanical work/lingo so please give me what you got.I have done alot in the past with my gixxer and other bikes but never valves>

Old 04-29-2009, 07:10 PM

Well for me, i had some noise that I thought was ticking but was the CCTL, I swapped it out and it sounds great now....@25k

Otherwise I dont know too much about actual engine ticking in the F4 yet, I did a valve lash adjustment on my acura because that did have a nasty tick.