CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

total noob - 98 f3 sounds like its running on 2 or 3 cylinders

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2009, 04:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default total noob - 98 f3 sounds like its running on 2 or 3 cylinders

im new to the board and a complete noob with bikes. I have a 98 cbr f3 that the guy before me stunted. For the past year its run fine around town but on longer trips it would stall out on me until it cooled then ran fine again.

On the last trip i took with it, it kept stalling on me and i had it towed back home. I went to start it yesterday after sitting for a couple weeks and it sounds like its only running on a couple cylinders.

The rectifier i know is bad because there is a burnt wire on that but what else could be causing this?

cdi
tdi

i have no idea where those are or what they really do but someone had mentioned that before

right now the bike will start with the choke on but when you get to about 4k rpm its sounds horrible. Definitely not firing on all 4.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Old 08-24-2009, 08:10 AM

gas, air & spark = running engine. You need to figure out if its a fuel or spark problem. Do you have the repair manual? If not I would strongly suggest getting one. The bike is almost 12 years old. Alot of the electrical components do fail after 12 years. Coil, CDI, R/R, etc..The link below might help with electrical. It was posted by another member and it helped me.

http://www.offwidth.co.uk/bike/gener...lt_finding.pdf

Old 08-24-2009, 09:59 AM

When my regulator went to hell it sounded like it wasn't firing on all cylinders. Repair the burned wire, do the electrical diagnostics, and i'm willing to bet that your R/R is fried. Make sure you charge the battery, putting a new r/r onto a dead battery is just asking to smoke the new none.

The R/R on the 98 is prone to heating up and going bad, theres lots of threads on the board here about replacing it with other manufacturers.