CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Timing problems? I think?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2011, 04:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing problems? I think?

So I woke up this morning and cranked up my 98 CBR600 F3 which I have been riding for the last 2 months every day or every other day now with NO issues WHATSOEVER. NO ISSUES. I got on the road and was crusing about 90 or so not really getting on her hard and then suddenly she started sputtering like I was running outta gas. Well I just filled the tank 3 days ago and there was about 3/4 tank full. I added fuel additive thinking bad gas...no change. I changed the spark plugs today, brand new NGKs...still no change so heres what she's still doing:

It cranks up fine. I can rev all the way up to redline if I wanted and its fine, no stalling, no bogging down, throttle roll is perfectly responsive. When I put her into 1st gear its fine until I get around 8-9k, shift to second and it'll go a lil but it sputters a bit, 3rd gear and she sputters and dies under her own power and when I roll the throttle i get nothing. If I pull in the clutch lever the throttle will and I can rev her up but once back in gear its back to sounding like its not gettin gas and I get nothing but sputter sputter sputter. I've talked to a couple friends and one said that it sounds like a timing issue or a flywheel out of sync. So if anyone has any idea what this could be I'd appreciate your help.

Old 02-14-2011, 08:29 PM

Check your hoses for the air system. My F3 did that at one time. All is was one of the hoses had popped off.

Old 02-14-2011, 08:32 PM

Ive looked and cant find any hoses off. Its REALLY bugging me tho cuz its been PERFECT for the last 2 months. lol. tomorrow Im gonna try and check the timing and whatever else I can check.

Last edited by ICEmonky; 02-14-2011 at 08:36 PM.
Old 02-14-2011, 11:13 PM

so does no one have any ideas that might help me out? lol, 38 views and just 2 replies

Old 02-15-2011, 06:21 AM