CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

repairing a small crack in my tail section...

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2011, 07:07 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question repairing a small crack in my tail section...

Is it possible? How much am I looking at having to spend?

I plan to have the crack fixed and then painting the whole tail section from yellow to silver.

Where do I get the crack repaired? Where do I get the primer and paint? How much paint will this require? How much primer?

Sorry for all the question, but I'm totally new to the world of motorcycles.

Any help on these issues would be GREATLY appreciated.

By the way, I just purchased a 1996 f3 with a conversion to a 97 tail. The bike is yellow with custom silver decals. The bike has 22k on it and I gave $2200 for it. Fairly new tires. Fresh oil change. Brand new complete electrical system. Brand new gold chain.

Old 01-20-2011, 07:12 AM

If you are not experienced at doing paint and bodywork take it to a local autobody shop. You will spend a couple hundred but it will come out right. If you do it yourself and its your first shot at bodywork it wont look great. Its all time and practice.

Old 01-20-2011, 07:19 AM

Originally Posted by 6 Fingered Man
If you are not experienced at doing paint and bodywork take it to a local autobody shop. You will spend a couple hundred but it will come out right. If you do it yourself and its your first shot at bodywork it wont look great. Its all time and practice.

Well, that's the thing. I have no idea of how to do the body work but I have a friend who is awesome at paint work and he will paint it for free if I just buy the materials.

How much am I looking at for just the repair work?

What about the cost of the paint and primer?

This project is going to make this bike look 1,000 times better.