CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

f3 troubles!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2006, 11:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default f3 troubles!!

well i didnt know where to put this, but im a newbie (u might have seen my other post with pics of my f3)

anyways, i went over to the rents house sun night and did an oil and oil filter change and went to dinner for my mom's birthday and then was heading back home on i-95 N cruising at about 80mph and all was fine and dandy till my throttle just stops making the bike move and it dies and i have to coast to the shoulder.

man that sucked. i got my dad to come and pickup truck me back to his place. the next day i check out the battery and it turns out that it was a little low. the battery is brand new (the previous owner put it in when i bought it) so maybe it just needed to be charged fully? anywys i charged it up for a few hours and the bikeruns again but now my dad is saying how my bike isnt running right because the header pipes all have different temps and it sounds like it isnt running right. so now i gotta take off the tank and check compression, ignition, fuel & carbs ...arg...part of me is glad cause i wanted to check and clean carbs and get it running really well but part of me is also annoyed by issues of an older bike.

anyways just wanted to rant to make myself feel better. i cant wait to be riding it again.

-Jason

Old 10-14-2006, 03:48 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: f3 troubles!!

It wouldn't hurt to see if your bike is charging the battery. It doesn't start charging till the RPM's are at 5k. The voltage reading should be 13.0 V to 15.5 V. Anyway, it is just a thought in regards to the dead battery. I am having the exact same issue and it is because I have something in the charging system not working (Battery, Alternator, or Regulator/Rectifier). As I am crusing along, the bike dies. When I try to restart, the battery is dead.

Old 10-19-2006, 09:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts