CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

Broken Plug!

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2013, 06:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken Plug!

First off to start, my name is kevin and im a GM technician. couple days ago i picked up a 96 600f3. quit smoking, broke up with the girl, felt like a deserved something fun. use to ride a few years ago i figured id get back into the game. so i bought it, did a carb job yesterday but it was blowing out cylinder 1 coil. i figured it was just not grabbing the top of the plug. so today before riding it home, id just double check make sure the plug is tight and get it to sit right on the plug. sooooooo turns out the plug broke in the head and the non broken part is hanging in the head.

i was wondering if this happened to anyone. for me, its down to pulling the head and extracting this SOB, or try to fit an easy-out down the cylinder.

is it possible to access the bottom of the cylinder via carb removal.

just looking for some input.

Kevin
862-268-0520

Old 08-23-2013, 03:46 AM

Originally Posted by Ricecooker
First off to start, my name is kevin and im a GM technician. couple days ago i picked up a 96 600f3. quit smoking, broke up with the girl, felt like a deserved something fun. use to ride a few years ago i figured id get back into the game. so i bought it, did a carb job yesterday but it was blowing out cylinder 1 coil. i figured it was just not grabbing the top of the plug. so today before riding it home, id just double check make sure the plug is tight and get it to sit right on the plug. sooooooo turns out the plug broke in the head and the non broken part is hanging in the head.

i was wondering if this happened to anyone. for me, its down to pulling the head and extracting this SOB, or try to fit an easy-out down the cylinder.

Kevin
862-268-0520
wouldn't even bother with an easy out i would just pull the head off and get it out that way and while the head is off re-tap the threads just to be on the safe side