CBR 600F3 1995 - 1998 CBR 600F3 Forum

96 F3 getting painted

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2010, 02:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 F3 getting painted

I have my bike in the shop getting repsol racing style paint job. While it is naked I was curious to a few recommendations.

First is tire recommendation for Florida during the rainy season.
I would like to lower the back but have not been able to find a resonable lowering link. I must have one to lower the bike(back, front has been lowered) correct? I do not like the forward lean but like my bike low.

One thing I have noticed sense I adjusted my chain I am getting a rubbing in I believe one of the sprockets when I ride. If the bike is lifted I can spin the wheel and at a certain point the tire wants to stop as it seems it is rubbing on something. I beleive it is either the front sprocket or just the chain itself because my bearings on my chain are going.

Any help will be appreciated, I am new to bike knowledge and have a lot to learn as to the bike itself.

Old 02-10-2010, 03:32 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

For the tire, there really is no great tire for rain as these bikes ride terrible in the rain (as far as turning, accelerating, etc). They just don't have much of a contact patch on the road and no tire is going to be able to compensate for that in the rain while still being able to turn well. All you can do when riding in the rain (I'm in central FL, so I totally understand the concern) is to ride conservatively in wet weather and ride very defensively. If you haven't already, I highly recommend getting a rainsuit and keeping it on you when riding. Mine has saved me many a time on the way home from work!