CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

terminology question

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2006, 12:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default terminology question

Since I am new to the biker world and have been reading these treads for a week now, I noticed that a couple of terms get thrown around from time to time. For instance I know that the term piped means aftermarket exhaust installed.

Can someone please help me and others who may not be as knowledgeable in these such term get an understanding of these terms. Here are a few that I have been reading thus far.

piped - (already discussed)
slider - ( to protect bike if dropped)
jetted - ???
-1/+1 - ???
swingarm - ???

Those are all the ones I can think of but feel free to add more to this list if you know more. This will help me and others if we want to attempt to have these modifications done to our bikes in the future.

Old 05-16-2006, 04:05 PM
Default RE: terminology question

not as bike savy as the rest but
jetted---when you get a slip-on you have to adjust the carbs (correct me if i'm wrong)...never bikes have a power commander (or PC) since they are not carburated
-1/+1---referrs to the sprokets but i am not sure the use...i know people change sprockets for stunting but not sure of any other real purpose behind it
swingarm---lol, this is the thing your rear wheel is attached to ... google swingarm and you'll see or even ebay it

Old 05-16-2006, 06:03 PM

jetting refers to the air/fuel ratio of your carbs. if you change things like your exhaust or air filter that allows the engine to breathe better you will also need to change the jetting to add more fuel to compensate for the added air.