CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

Need help running.

  #1  
Old 04-01-2018, 09:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 40
Default Need help running.

Ok guys. Got me a 91 cbr f2 and I love this bike. She starts right up and pulls great, however at high rpm in higher gears (5th&6th) she acts up. 6th gear completely falls on it's face. I know I'm getting fuel and spark. Carbs are synched and no vacuum leaks anywhere. Almost at my witts end with it. It does have a different exhaust and jets are 138 across the board. Idk if I'm getting too much fuel not enough air or what. It does have stock style air filter. Any help is greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 04-01-2018, 11:07 AM
CaBaRet's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Lancs ,UK
Posts: 2,519
Default

Have you got stock sprockets on
 
  #3  
Old 04-01-2018, 11:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 40
Default

No I we -1/+5 . But the problem arose before I changed sprockets. I thought it was the carbs but after synch the problem persists
 
  #4  
Old 04-02-2018, 10:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 40
Default Made progress

Ok so a buddy of mine suggested removing the snorcle from the air box. ( he thinks I'm getting too much fuel) I took it down the road and it was a lot better. But if I get on it it starts to break up a lol bit, but nowhere near as bad as it was. No longer dies in 6th. Maybe I need more air to the air box???? Not sure but I'm so close to fixing the problem
 
  #5  
Old 04-02-2018, 06:06 PM
EchoWars's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 363
Default

Sounds like time for a carb teardown & cleaning. A carb sync is not a cure-all.

Also need to make sure that the petcock is flowing as it should. I and others with an F2 have had issues with the stock vacuum actuated device,
 
  #6  
Old 04-02-2018, 07:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 40
Default

Right on. I've torn down an cleaned carbs so I'll go ahead an order a f3 petcock. To my understanding I should just be able to plug the vacuum line and be ok as long as I turn fuel on an off.

I did find that it was a fuel problem by playing with the choke as I was going down the road (not recommended). It was the only other way I could think to make sure it wasn't something else
 
  #7  
Old 04-02-2018, 11:20 PM
EchoWars's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 363
Default

Honda PN 16950-MAL-603. I believe Honda stuck with the vacuum actuated valve till '98.
 
  #8  
Old 04-03-2018, 07:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 40
Default Petcock

Ok I found one on eBay. There's no vacuum port. Just to make sure, I don't need a fuel pump for those petcocks do I.
 
  #9  
Old 04-03-2018, 05:13 PM
EchoWars's Avatar
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 363
Default

No...nothing changes except that now you do not need vacuum to allow fuel flow. You will need to get a cap for the vacuum port on the #1 carb.

You'll have to get into the habit of turning the fuel off when you park the bike.
 
  #10  
Old 04-03-2018, 05:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Knoxville,TN
Posts: 40
Default

Woot woot!! New one should be here Saturday. PN matched up, so here's hoping for closure
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Need help running.


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.