CBR 600F2 1991 - 1994 CBR 600F2

Choke - any idea what this could mean?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2007, 03:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choke - any idea what this could mean?

Hi everybody,

Quick question- I live in a very mild climate, and I can get my bike to start with the choke on. However, when I take the choke off, it dies immediately. I'm pretty new to this... Any ideas what the problem could potentially be?

Thanks for your time and any ideas you might have.

-Greg

Old 06-05-2007, 04:20 AM
Default RE: Choke - any idea what this could mean?

Apparently there is a vaccuum line between the fuel petcock and the carbs which needs to be connected and free of leaks. I would check that out since that line is mandatory for fuel delivery.

Maybe pull out your plugs and check the condition/gap....

If those are ok possibly check your fuel filter and fuel lines.

Old 06-05-2007, 05:22 AM

You might want to check the idle adjustment screw and make sure you idle isn't set so low that it justs stall when it's off choke...also is your petcock on the tank side of the switch when there is little fuel in the tank, if so switch to reserve side.

hope that helps..

Old 06-05-2007, 05:19 PM

Hey guys,

Thanks a lot for your responses. I feel like it may have something to do with the idle adjustment choke now, because I remember my friend screwing around with it so much that I have no idea what it's set to now. Still, the bike usually dies before I get a chance to figure out where its actually supposed to be.

Should messing around with the idle adjustment screw change the RPMs while the choke is on? Also, is there a way to figure out what it should be set to without having the bike actually running?