CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

Valve cover gasket

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2013, 07:40 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valve cover gasket

Hey guys, I finally broke down and sent off my carbs to be rebuilt. The bike was running rich I believe. While the carbs were out I pulled the CCT, and it seems to be operational (tension is good with no noticeable wear marks). But I'm still hearing top end noise every now and then. I'm thinking I may need a valve adjustment and may end up doing that while I have the bike apart.

My question is, is the valve cover gasket reusable? I work as an auto mechanic and know that sometimes the gaskets can be reused. But at the same time I don't want to take it apart and possibly need to order a new one. Is there anywhere online that I can find a new v/c gasket or will I be headed down to the local dealership to see if they have one.

Old 02-28-2013, 09:58 AM
Administrator and MVN, March 2012/Oct 2013 ROTM
Received 117 Likes on 107 Posts

Since you work as a mechanic, then you know what will happen if that really old (maybe 20+ years) gasket doesn't seal back up. You get to take everything back apart to do it again and clean up the mess. Is the hassle worth the cost of a gasket? Your bike, your time, your call...

Old 02-28-2013, 10:58 AM

Yeah that's the thing, the gasket doesn't look too old, but I would rather not take the chance if I don't need to.

Are there any vendors that stock the v/c gasket?

Old 02-28-2013, 11:03 AM
June 2013 ROTM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I haven't had the valve cover off on my cbr (yet), but I did the valves on my old kwacker. I just used RTV, which is what the manual called for. The thickness of the gasket isn't important for the valve cover, am I right? Can RTV be used on the cbr?

Old 02-28-2013, 12:06 PM