CBR 600F 1987 - 1990 CBR 600F Forum

New and need help. 1987 Honda CBR600F Hurricane

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2011, 04:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New and need help. 1987 Honda CBR600F Hurricane

Hello everyone, I'm new to motorcycles and this forum with many questions. I just recently purchased a 1987 Honda CBR600F Hurricane from a friend. It needs some tlc and I don't have alot of cash to spend on it. So first thing is the parts needed. Seats torn, don't have anything for the left side, repair manual for the bike, cam tensioner(can hear it rattle and was told it needs to be tightened, so not sure if I need it or not), gas tank has a dent in it and would like to pop that out as well but not sure how, and really and extra piece I can pick up. Secondly I do have a few plastics that have minor cracks in them, is it possible to salvage any of those and paint over it to look like new? Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Old 09-14-2011, 07:56 PM

the CCT is a common issue, there was a how to on converting it to a manual. the OEM unit, is hydraulic, and sucks. be careful though, overtightening is just as bad as too loose.

not sure about the rest. where are you located though?

Old 09-14-2011, 08:32 PM

Thanks for replying. I was unaware that tightening the cam tensioner too tight would be bad. However I'm sure if I buy a repair manual (similar to haynes or chilton for cars and trucks), it should tell me the correct specs. Also I am located in Brantford, Ontario, Canada. I will edit my profile during some free time. Again if anyone has any spare parts they are willing to donate or sell for really cheap let me know please.

Old 09-15-2011, 02:22 AM

if you have a factory tensioner, you cannot adjust the tension at all, its purely hydraulic and self adjusting(which was the issue)

overtensioning can put too much strain on the cam chain, causing it to snap, possibly causing catastrophic failures to occur.

Old 09-15-2011, 10:32 AM