CBR 1100XX "Super Blackbird" 1998 - 2003 CBR 1000XX

rebuilding a 97 blackbird.

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2013, 01:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rebuilding a 97 blackbird.

Hello I am the new lucky owner of a 97 cbr1100xx. When I bought the bike. The battery would not charge. I replaced the rectifier and while doing this noticed the chain was worn and the vortex rear sprocket was missing about 4 out of 47 total teeth. So now I am in the process of changing both sprockets and chain ( old removed just waiting for new parts to get here. I am replacing with a new vortex 47t rear sprocket, 16t jet front sprocket and a did vx chain. I checked out the rear bearings while I had the wheel off and noticed it wouldn't hurt to replace them while I already have the wheel off. My question is what bearings would everyone recommend? I am a maintenance tech and at my job we use nachi and nsk bearings. I know these are good brands, but I don't know if they make them for bikes and if there are better bearings out there. Any help would b appreciated and any other things seasoned cbr1100xx riders could recommend to check would be appreciated (I've only owned cbr600s before). Thanks everyone for any input!

Old 02-26-2013, 08:59 AM

I have NSK bearings in mine - straight off the shelf from a local nsk stockist. Nothing clever about them - just standard deep groove double rubber shield bearings.

Old 02-27-2013, 06:41 PM