Why a high mounted exhaust?

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2013, 10:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why a high mounted exhaust?

I'm relatively new to sport bikes, but a high mounted exhaust doesn't make much sense beyond looks. They do look cool, but so does lower center of gravity. Forgive my ignorance, but why else would you want a high mounted exhaust? Unless, of course, you're somehow dragging it on the asphalt.

Old 05-31-2013, 01:24 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

From the horses mouth (Honda Worldwide | CBR1000RR | History - Episode 02)

Former Honda Racing Corporation (HRC) works rider Hikaru Miyagi: The CBR1000RR was the first in the series to feature the center-up exhaust pipe located in the tail cowl. This must have been tough to design, since you had to move a heavy part away from the center of the bike and also put it up high. What was your reason for adopting this feature?
Seventh-generation CBR1000RR Large Project Leader (LPL) Hirofumi Fukunaga: Just because it’s really cool!
Miyagi: That’s great. That’s what I wanted to hear! In the 2008 model, the exhaust pipe returned to the traditional side position, and I was rather sad about it. [Laughs.]
Ninth-generation CBR1000RR designer Toshiaki Kishi: Of course, from an engineering perspective, there were all kinds of merits and demerits to the center-up layout, and it seemed that people looking at it from other perspectives were having a debate as well. From both a functional and styling perspective, I thought it was about time to do something about this huge muffler protruding from the side of the most cutting-edge super sport bike of the era, and so I wanted to move it to the interior of the body. In terms of styling, this feature was extremely well received. I also think it was extremely exciting for riders that their favorite bike really captured the innovative image of the RC211V, which was winning race after race in MotoGP.