+too much power?

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 09:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default +too much power?

I have been riding for a couple of years on my 02 F4i, and have ridden other people's liter bikes before. But after talking to some people they made it seem as if the 1000 were pointless for the street. Meaning that they dont handle as good in the corners as the 600's, and that their only true advantage is 100+mph acceleration. Now i consider myself to have pretty good throttle control, and i dont ride motorcycles for stunts. Do ya'll think the 1000 is too big of a bike for a rider like me? Also im about 6'3 and 190 lbs. It just seems as if i fit on the 1000 better than the 600's. It could be because the 1000 just looks bigger when im sitting on it, but my knees hug the tank better i think. any advice would be great. also how many people here started on a 1000 or how long did it take for ya'll to become comfortable with one? thanks

Old 08-23-2006, 10:03 PM
Default RE: +too much power?

Seems like this question pops up quite often. It really just boils down to what you want. I had an F4i for only a few months before moving up to the 1000RR. I love it. It has much more low end torque and seems much easier to ride. It's not that I disliked the F4i, just that I love the 1000RR even more.

You decide what you want and which bike feels right to you. Then just go for it!

Good luck!

Old 08-23-2006, 10:09 PM

It could also be more comfortable because the 1000RR seat is a bit lower and the bars a bit higher than the 600RR.

If I was only going to ride mine on the street. I'd have gotten a smaller machine. (that or be racing the cops.)