looking for some advice

  #1  
Old 08-19-2013, 03:56 PM
kidd6674's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: roxboro nc
Posts: 31
Default looking for some advice

i have a 2006 honda cbr1000rr it has a 530 chain 16/42 sprocket and i would like to change to a 15/41 sprocket set up i wanna know the pro and cons to this...and how do i know the length of my chain and whats the best setup to go with for more front end lifting power without losing my highway power cause i do ride this bike to work sometimes.
 
  #2  
Old 08-19-2013, 07:38 PM
Senior Member & Lord of The Man Cave
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,292
Default

It's interesting that you asked this now. Less than 2 minutes ago I ordered a 520 chain and sprocket kit for my 08 1000RR. It had nearly 20,000 miles on it and the chain had a few tight links so I figured it was time.

Anyhow, people are always talking about doing things like -1/+2 conversion kits and other combinations. In your case it would be a -1/-1. If you go to the Gearing Commander website you can experiment with different combinations to see what effect each one has on rpm and top speed. A smaller front sprocket give more wheelie ability but less top speed. The opposite is true for the rear sprocket. If you go -1/-1 you are partially negating the effect of getting a one tooth smaller sprocket up front.

A -1/+2 gear change would drop nearly 20 mph off my top speed and that was too much so I kept the gear ratios the same, just went from 530 to 520 sizes.

PM me for a place that has a great deal on complete sprocket and chain conversion kits in various sizes and colors.
 

Last edited by RoadiJeff; 08-19-2013 at 07:46 PM.
  #3  
Old 08-19-2013, 07:39 PM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

What are you trying to accomplish with -1/-1?
It would be close to the same as going +1 in the rear.
Unless you mean -1/+1 in which you could most likely stay with the stock size.
Look through www.gearingcommander.com and play with the sprocket set-ups to see what you like.
Also if you change from stock you will need a speedohealer or speedoDRD to calibrate your speedometer.
 
  #4  
Old 08-19-2013, 07:59 PM
kidd6674's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: roxboro nc
Posts: 31
Default

What I'm looking for is more bottom end power I like to keep my front end on the air so I'm looking to change up to do a lil wheeling
 
  #5  
Old 08-20-2013, 08:38 AM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

Well you have a litre bike, there should be no reason you can't get the front up in forst or second with OEM gearing.

But if you want it like that, either go down teeth in the front or up in the rear or just practice wheelies and you can keep your OEM geraing.

I can do 2nd gear wheelies on my F4i so you should have no problem getting the wheel in the air on a 1000.
Also, the more you change your ratio the faster you will run out of gear, so hopefully you can hit BP or can change gears in a wheelie.
 
  #6  
Old 08-20-2013, 03:17 PM
kidd6674's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: roxboro nc
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by jeffjones View Post
Well you have a litre bike, there should be no reason you can't get the front up in forst or second with OEM gearing.

But if you want it like that, either go down teeth in the front or up in the rear or just practice wheelies and you can keep your OEM geraing.

I can do 2nd gear wheelies on my F4i so you should have no problem getting the wheel in the air on a 1000.
Also, the more you change your ratio the faster you will run out of gear, so hopefully you can hit BP or can change gears in a wheelie.
thanks jeff just figured out what i was doing wrong was relesing throttle before i pop clutch instead of gasing while poping clutch
 
  #7  
Old 08-20-2013, 03:18 PM
kidd6674's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: roxboro nc
Posts: 31
Default

also just ordered new front sprocket went 1 down....should help a lil more besides think im a lil scared of looping...lol
 
  #8  
Old 08-20-2013, 03:40 PM
jeffjones's Avatar
Welcome Crew and May 2012 Ride of the Month
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 1,564
Default

I would look into a speedoDRD or speedohealer as well as your speedometer will read higher than you are actually doing.
Witht eh factory error it will read about 7-8% higher.
 
  #9  
Old 08-20-2013, 03:57 PM
kidd6674's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: roxboro nc
Posts: 31
Default

Is the speedohealer somyhing I can hook up or is there a post some where that shows me how to
 
  #10  
Old 08-20-2013, 06:10 PM
Senior Member & Lord of The Man Cave
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,292
Default

Originally Posted by kidd6674 View Post
Is the speedohealer somyhing I can hook up or is there a post some where that shows me how to
It's not that difficult - I have one on my 08. You can go to the Healtech SpeedoHealer website and d/l the installation manual if you want to look it over before you buy. Go to the Product Manuals tab at the top of their home page.

So, did you decide to stick with the stock gearing size for the rear sprocket? You originally were talking about going -1/-1.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: looking for some advice


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.