CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

Picked up an 87 Hurricane, some problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2007 | 06:38 AM
Default Picked up an 87 Hurricane, some problems

Hello all,

I'm new to the hurricane, just bought one last weekend. I've been reading through the forums and you all seem like a nice bunch of folks.
Anyways even with only 13000 miles on the clock she has some problems. Carbs feel dirty and needs new spark plugs (non issues) But the biggest thing is that the battery doesnt charge during normal operation. Trickle charge the battery and it starts ok. But after an hour of street riding it wont restart (battery is dead), and the headlights get progressively dimmer. A friend of mine with an older honda said there used to be an issue with the magnets on the rotor losing their magnetizm and failing to provide enough juice to recharge the battery. Also it idles very low, around 600, and sometimes stalls out because of this(although this may be a function of the dirty carbs and the plugs). I must assume that nothing more than basic maintainence has been done to the bike(oil, tires, brakes) So where can my problems lie?

Thanks for any input,

Matt

Old 07-10-2007 | 07:49 AM
Default RE: Picked up an 87 Hurricane, some problems

Welcome to the forum!!! I know that it get frustrating when you are trying to get the thing to run well!!!

I suggest that you ride it hard for longer!! It can be that with town riding she does not run at hi rpm's this can make the alternator notgive lots of juiceat 14.4 v like it is suppose to!!

Hope you find the problem!! Keep us posted!!

Old 07-10-2007 | 11:49 AM

I think im going to take off the carbs tonight and soak them. Any recommendations on what product to use for the soaking? Also gonna change the spark plugs at the same time. If anyone has any pointers they would be appreciated.

Old 07-10-2007 | 12:04 PM