CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

New 1000F Owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2007, 07:24 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New 1000F Owner

Some of you may hate me for this, but aside from being a new 1000F owner, I have to say that it didn't cost me one red cent. One of the guys I work with is moving out of the country in a short period of time and gave away his Yamaha VMax and 1991 CBR 1000F (I got the CBR ).

I know absolutely nothing about this bike aside from what I've read online so far. Truth be known, I have no experience on a street bike either, but I used to do a lot of enduro riding. I'm aware of what this thing is capable of and plan on being as careful with it as I can be. I've wanted a street bike for over 10 years and this I just couldn't pass this deal up (FREE!). I'm going to be taking a motorcycle safety course and won't ride it until I've done so.

I picked it up last night. It won't start, but it tries. We think it's because it has old fuel in it. I'm going to seafoam the fuel system this week to see if I can get it running. The previous owner wanted to take it for one last ride, but was disappointed it wouldn't start. I also got a few boxes of goodies with it including 2 extra seats, a 4 to 1 header (don't know the brand), the rear rack with hardshell locking case, haynes and other manuals, a pristine new (never been used) gas tank, brake pads, new clutch, misc nuts and bolts, etc.

I hope to learn a lot about this bike and enjoy myself on it. Truth be told, I originally didn't want a sport bike, I'm more of a dual-sport/cruiser-type person, but everybody I've talked to has told me that these are great bikes no matter what your preference.

Pictures can be seen here: http://westcoastforums.com/malibu72/...ex.php?list=37

Bear with me, I may ask questions that have probably been asked hundreds of times before (I'm no stranger to automotive forums, I'm an admin on one).

Old 05-08-2007, 10:36 AM
Default RE: New 1000F Owner