CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

How to shim the needles? pics?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2011, 05:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to shim the needles? pics?

All
I just finished cleaning the piston and needles on my Hurricane 1000 carbs. She seems to run alot better. Seems to stumble slightly at 7k which she has been doing this for some time. I heard if I shim the needles about .003 this will help the midrange smoothness. I have never done this before. Can any one provide pics. Pics are worth a thousand words. Thanks Matt

Old 01-25-2011, 09:58 AM
Smile

I read on here that instead of buying a dynojet kit I could shim the needles .003 which would richen up the fuel mixture. Just trying to save a few dollars as the jet kits run 80-100$$. The .003 stainless steel washers and my labor are cheap compared to the jet kits. Maybe I need to bite the bullet and buy a jet kit.

The stumble I mentioned is really more a slight surging which is pretty
anoying since I know the bike as more in her. I know for a fact that she is lean in the upper rpms because of the dyno run. I will say after I cleaned the needles/pistons/bores in the carbs she runs alot better. I also checked the diaphrams for holes and there were none.

Old 01-25-2011, 04:40 PM
Administrator, MVN / ROTM NOV 2012
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Hmmm I remember a thread here waaay back with somebody shimming the needles.

However these bikes run on the rich side anyway from stock so I'm not sure you'd be
addressing anything making them even richer running.

Also a .003 washer ........wouldn't that be like microscopically thin ??

lemme see if I can dig up that other older thread

Your old thread

Last edited by Sprock; 01-25-2011 at 04:49 PM.
Old 01-25-2011, 05:34 PM