CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

carb sync 93 model

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2008, 10:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default carb sync 93 model

I need to sync my carbs i think. One or more of the carbs is spitting when the engine is cold.
I did see(or thought I saw) a write up on how to sync the carbs, but i did a search and couldnt find it. I am not a mechanic, but somewhat mechanically inclined. Is this something I can do? What is the best sync tool (guage?)to purchase and from where? Can someone point me to the write up on how to do it if there is one?

Thank you for all the help!! I absolutely love my Hurricane!

I will hopefully resolve the brake issue this weekend after I pick up a bleeder tool.

Old 10-30-2008, 10:52 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: carb sync 93 model

Hello Bickleboc, Naga Thai is the man (the others names I cant remember) he has done a really good step by step carb balancing thread, have a look for that. If not hang around and the grown ups will be here soon

Old 10-30-2008, 02:51 PM

I was just looking at that write up 2 days ago and it'swery well done. You will have to get a set of gauges but other that that, it's nothing more than a few hand tools and your time.

Old 10-30-2008, 03:34 PM

You can balance them one at a time if you cannot get a 4 gauge set .. It just depends on what gauges you can get mate
I beg to differ. There is no way to get them correct doing them one at a time. Adjusting one will effect the other three. Spend the money on a good sync tool, and you will never be dissapointed. I recommend the Morgan Carb Tune.

Old 10-30-2008, 04:19 PM
Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts

Hi Ronnie - I did the latest on this ... see my post here... https://cbrforum.com/m_671114/tm.htm..

I am same as you ..
I am not a mechanic, but somewhat mechanically inclined. Is this something I can do?
YOU CAN DO IT!

NOTE: You have 1993 model so note
1. the differences on location of the vacuum pick up points and