CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

1987 cbr1000f fuel pump wiring

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2019, 02:01 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1987 cbr1000f fuel pump wiring

Hi,

I am almost finished putting my 1987 1000 Hurricane back to road worthiness. I have little experience when it comes to wiring and I am hoping someone could tell me for sure which wires to splice together. The old pump has a green wire and a black wire with a blue stripe. The new pump has a black wire, and a black wire with a white stripe. The old pump has a female plug, and the new pump has a male plug ( Seems like it would have made more sense to have female plugs on the harness, that would accept a male plug for any electrical components to plug into, but the new pump has a male fitting and the old pump has a female fitting ), so I need to splice the wires from the old female plug onto the new pump wires. The old plug I assume has the green wire as the ground. The new pump has the black and white wire and the solid black wire. I am thinking the green should attach to the black with white stripe wire, and then black wire should attach to the black with blue stripe wire. I would appreciate if someone could verify that, or save me from shorting out a new pump or worse.......

Old 11-08-2019, 05:46 AM
Welcome Crew
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Most people ditch the pump when it eventually plays up...Honda did with the MKII on.
Sorry if that does not help, someone else might chime in soon!

Old 11-08-2019, 11:17 AM
Super Moderator
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

According to the circuit diagram the pump should have a brown/red & green wire, so it sounds like you may be dealing with non-standard wiring. Green is typically the ground