600 Modifications This section is specifically for questions and advice pertaining to mods of the older 600 models.

Dynojet install and tuning on F4

  #1  
Old 12-06-2011, 12:33 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default Dynojet install and tuning on F4

Ok so I just installed the k and n filter and dynojet stage 1 kit. I already have a delkevic high flow exhaust. My question is am I better off just taking the bike to the shop so they can put it on the dyno to tune it? From what I understand the carbs need to be sync and the mixture screws need to be adjusted, and I dont have the tools for the carb sync nor do I know much about tuning. The bike idles great even when it was fully warm. I did take it for a little test ride and at first it ran great but then when the bike was fully warm 5k rpms and under were sluggish upon acceleration, and from 5k up the bike ran great with noticeable power gain. Does anyone have an idea of how much a shop usually charges to get it tuned? Like I said the kit is already installed just needs proper tuning. I know these are popular mods for this bike and I was also wondering with good tuning is it possible to get 100whp with these mods? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 12-08-2011, 02:59 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default

anyone have an opinion?
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-2011, 12:43 AM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: north/central WV
Posts: 1,136
Default

I think you would be better off going to get it dyno tuned. But it might cost an arm and a leg for them to pull your carbs, swap jets, etc. Redyno, pull carbs again etc. etc. Theres a carb tuning thingy in the F2 carb rebuild sticky. Reading plugs also helps. Maybe they can dyno it, then they can make some suggestions and you can do them at home then take it back to the dyno man. Should be cheaper if you do the labor.
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-2011, 04:29 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default

What about carb syncing how important is that after the jet kit installed?
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-2011, 10:24 PM
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: north/central WV
Posts: 1,136
Default

If I remember right. You need to make sure your valves are properly adjusted first then you can get a proper sync. You need to get a Clymer Manual, its full of important information. I tryed syncing my f2 one time. I think I got it right. Good Luck.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-2012, 03:53 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default

The bike seems to be perfectly fine and I never had it professonally tuned or synced. Did I just get lucky on the install?
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
backdoc
CBR 954RR
3
03-04-2011 10:17 AM
backdoc
How To ...
0
03-03-2011 03:10 PM
slug bitch
CBR 1000F "Hurricane"
5
01-15-2009 07:18 PM
MikeZ
CBR 600F2
3
03-15-2008 12:36 AM
Pablo
CBR 900RR
9
05-24-2005 01:29 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Dynojet install and tuning on F4


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.