600 Modifications This section is specifically for questions and advice pertaining to mods of the current 600 models.

HELP WITH SPROCKETS!!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2007, 10:11 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP WITH SPROCKETS!!!

i am a newbie and have no idea about bikes and how they work!!i'm wanting to do a sprocket switch and don't know what to do. i know that i have to go smaller to get more acceleration. or less teeth.i'm just starting to get the front tire off the ground but need a little more power to help me out.its an inexpensive way to get more power but i don't know what is good. i was looking and saw a 40 tooth for the rear and a 15 tooth for the front. i have a 2007 honda cbr 600rr and need some more oomph for a guy that weighs 215!!its my first bike.What is the best sprocket change for me to do?

Old 11-08-2007, 12:52 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: HELP WITH SPROCKETS!!!

I don't know what your stock gearing is,but normally everyone goes to a -1 on front +2 on rear

Old 11-08-2007, 01:04 PM

Yea, above and let me explain. A large rear sprocket will give you less top speed but more initial punch, or torque to get movin.. perfect for trying to wheelie. A smaller front sprocket will do the same, but be aware that one tooth smaller in the front sprocket equates to about 4 teeth on the rear sprocket. Good Luck..

Old 11-08-2007, 01:34 PM

One down on the front is equal to 2.77 up on the rear. So....up 3 is a little more than going -1 up front.

And.....just a word of caution, if you truly are a noob......please dont wadd up the new bike. A wheelie should be the LAST thing on your mind. Nor should more acceleration. I weigh 200lbs.........I'm pretty sure that bike will accelerate PLENTY quick as is. Also, if you cant wheelie it as is.......you have no business being on one wheel!!

Old 11-08-2007, 02:13 PM