CBR 1000F "Hurricane" 1987-1996 CBR 1000F

vacuum lines

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2010, 07:53 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default vacuum lines

so i am having a little confusion on how this bike is supposed to run and why...

let me explain. i have been having issues with my bike getting starved of fuel after riding for a little while and dying. gas tank had a woosh when i opened it up and i was lead towards the gas tank vent (thanks, pete). i cleared out the vent in the tank with a little blast of air and it seemed like i fixed the problem. however, i started riding it again and it still happened to me. my solution: reached under the gas tank and pulled the vent line that connects to the carbs and at least the bike ran okay and didnt die on me. i got home and tore it apart and found a few things out.

let me help explain so everyone is on the same page. this port is on the back of the #2 carb, throttle side:

Name:  Picture001-4.jpg
Views: 1488
Size:  153.9 KB

this is the line that connects to it:

Name:  Picture002-2.jpg
Views: 2004
Size:  136.1 KB

and this is the port that it connects to on the gas tank:

Name:  Picture003-2.jpg
Views: 1015
Size:  77.6 KB

now, onto my situation. i decided to pull the lines apart since the tube that connects the carbs to the tank is two pieces, with a smaller plastic piece in the middle of the two which i have been lead to believe is a check (one way) valve. i found this to be my restriction in the system and decided to blow out the tubes to clear them of any blockage. however, when i got the compressor out i decided (accident) to blow the check valve out into the street and not be able to find it. i decided to call it quits for the night and went inside.