Street Fighters For the unconventional CBR builder.

Convert CBR to classic 70s CB?

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2022, 11:28 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Convert CBR to classic 70s CB?

I like the look of the vintage CB100/125, but there are none available near me in Canada. However I can easily get a CBR125 with a similar single cylinder engine.

How hard would it be to convert a CBR125 to look like a classic 70s CB? Too much effort?

I am new to modifying, and this forum- please be kind!

Old 11-12-2022, 08:26 AM
Super Moderator
Received 316 Likes on 260 Posts

Hey there. Of course anything is possible. But it’s my thought you would have to be pretty decent at metal fabrication as a starter.
I think you would spend a lot of time and money and wind up with a tribute type of ride rather than one that is identical.
just my thoughts

Old 11-12-2022, 10:31 AM

Originally Posted by hamlin6
Hey there. Of course anything is possible. But it’s my thought you would have to be pretty decent at metal fabrication as a starter.
I think you would spend a lot of time and money and wind up with a tribute type of ride rather than one that is identical.
just my thoughts
Valid point. Let's say I do want a tribute, or something akin to classic vs racing styling, with minimum or no metal fabrication- just parts swap and clever mounting.

Once the fairings and attachments are removed, you'd end up with a bare frame.
The tank, seat, headlight, indicators, odometer and fenders could be replaced. But I guess the question is, would the frame have the appropriate mounting points for these parts? Assuming they even fit the dimensions without looking ackward, one may need to weld mounting points onto the frame.

Also how easy would it be to attach rear suspension and change the angle of the rear?

I've seen the classic CB converted into a cafe racer by removing rear suspension and fender and changing handlebars etc. I guess I'm trying to do the reverse.