South AR, LA, MS, KY, TN, AL, GA, FL, NC, SC, WV, VA, DE, DC, MD

SC Riding...???

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2010, 01:19 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SC Riding...???

Hello guys/gals,

A long time ago, I started a thread when I lived in OH called OH Riding...? and got some pretty good responses, even made a few friends!

Well, due to my profession (I play golf for a living), I moved to SC, Conway to be exact, right next to Myrtle Beach. I'll be down here for at least a year, then I'll be moving back to OH.

Now that I have a couple of weeks off, I have to get my fix. Where are the GOOD roads around here?! Even if it's an hour/2 hours away, I'll ride. I'm getting so f'in sick of seeing squids around here that it makes me sick! All they do is throw on a pair of gym shorts...maybe some flip flops, and they go cruising down 501/544/17, just cruising the beach(es). THAT IS NOT riding! LOL...I pray to God that there are some twisties somewhere in SC, but, being that I just moved down here, I don't know didly squat about this place!

If you know of any GOOD areas in SC to ride, PLEASE, let me know! I know that Deals Gap isn't tooooo far from here (closer than when I lived in OH)...I Mapquested it, however, does anyone know a good, rough idea, how long it'd take on a bike? Being that the MB area is full of tourist who don't know how to drive, it could take twice as long.

Anyways, if you could let me know, I'd greatly appreciate it! Thanks a bunch!

Old 05-19-2010, 07:13 AM
Super Moderator and Official Welcome Crew Yeti
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

head north and west 'til you find some high ground. I don't know anything local to myrtle to tell you; but you are in one of the squid capitals of the US. welcome to SC.

Old 05-21-2010, 11:33 PM

Yeah, I was afraid so !