Riding Gear Questions and reviews about jackets, helmets, gloves, etc.

Why does everyone bag on ICON gear?

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2008, 11:25 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why does everyone bag on ICON gear?

Hello,
newbie here. The day I bought my bike I went down to chaparral motorsports and bought me some gears...Alpinestars gloves and textile jacket and ICON helmet.

I searched this forum aroudn a bit and most of you seem to have something against ICON so I want toknow about it. Since ICON is what wraps my brain when I ride I want to know if its crap. I mean when I bought it I thought well it certainly isn't cheap and it matches my bike so I got it. Plus was that my wife reallyliked it and of course was the most snug fit of all. I tried on lower end shoeis and Scorpios but ICON fit me the best. And since the salesman said it gets loose after sweatin and stuff I decided on the tightest fit as well. So that being said, it's this helmet:

http://www.rideicon.com/product_deta...36&id=5720

Pros:
Fits me tight
Matches my bike
Wife OK'd the purchase

Cons:
Too many vents, hence more things to break.

To me 400 isnt cheap, but I wanted to spend around 4~500 on something that will keep my head intact. But I'm starting to get real nervous about all the negativity towards ICON i see on this forum, what's up?

Old 07-20-2008, 11:51 AM
Default RE: Why does everyone bag on ICON gear?

WOW....

I had a nice thought out response to this question....typed it up.....clicked ok....and the forum screwed up.....damn.

Dont know how you got all what you typed to stick...

Old 07-20-2008, 12:28 PM
Location: Granger, Indiana (Next to South Bend and Notre Dame)

All you have to do is click preview, it will open in another window and if it will mess up it will do it in the other window.

Old 07-20-2008, 01:09 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

People have elitist attitudes and more often than not a complete lack of experience with the gear they're bashing.