Riding Gear Questions and reviews about jackets, helmets, gloves, etc.

Ebay leathers

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2009, 01:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ebay leathers

I've been riding for 3 years, always have used a textile cheapy joe rocket jacket. I recently sold my F1 Hurricane and picked up an f4i 600. I've been riding a lot more in the mountains latly, and definitely need more protection then just the jacket. I've got a good set of boots, but that's about it. I cannot afford a nice suit or anything, I'm sure i'll get flamed by "okay well you can afford the hospital bills" etc... I think I'm around a size 38, i'm 5'8 135lbs. I'd rather have it tighter then looser... Ebay has these (chinese I'm sure) 2 piece leather suits for $200ish, and they look okay. I'm sure they couldn't take a bunch of falls, but if they do their job once or twice, that's worth it alone. I've been looking for used suits but have had zero luck.

Any thoughts?

Thanks guys

Old 12-19-2009, 02:12 PM

Buddy of mine bought one of the suits off eBay for around $220; it didn't even make it to one fall - split its' seam getting on and off the bike.

If you check the racing boards (wera, cmra, etc) you can usually find used suits at great prices.

Old 12-19-2009, 03:09 PM

i would def try motorcycle superstore while they got major sales... i just picked up a honda authentic repsol jacket for 60 bucks in their closeout sales... they still got some sweet stuff

Old 12-19-2009, 10:45 PM

Originally Posted by randyjoy
Buddy of mine bought one of the suits off eBay for around $220; it didn't even make it to one fall - split its' seam getting on and off the bike.

If you check the racing boards (wera, cmra, etc) you can usually find used suits at great prices.
So you think they're complete junk? He didn't end up using the suit at all?

I posted up on the 13x forums, hopefully I can find a used suit.