Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

What was your first time like

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2013, 09:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What was your first time like

I remember the first and only time so far that I've wrecked a street bike. My first bike (I was a beginner and it was all I could afford at the time) was a Ninja 500 and had it for a few months back in 2004 till I got on the brakes to hard coming into a gas station. Rear brake locked up when the pavement dropped and changed and I high sided right in front of everyone. Tore up my knee and elbow (yep I was a squid in those days) along with my pride but I got back on and went home. I know people say you either keep riding or you hang it up after your first crash. Just wanted to see if others remembered their first experience.

Last edited by Tele1650; 10-18-2013 at 09:56 PM.
Old 10-18-2013, 10:41 PM
Retired Super Moderator and Fighterer
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

I was leading a group of a few bikes and a few cars back from this great 120 miles or so loop we used to do outside of Tallahassee, FL. We were coming back into town after doing some really spirited riding (if you catch my drift), so I kind of lost perception of how fast we were actually going. It had rained in Tally, but not when we were leaving, nor while we were on the ride. It all happened while we were away, it was nothing but sunshine (but that's not uncommon if you know Florida weather).

Anyways, those 2 factors worked against me. As we were coming into the first traffic lighted intersection - the light turned yellow. I had to stop because I was leading the group and most had not been on that ride before (they would have been lost).

The white-line-of-death at the intersection that was wet, with me carrying too much speed (lost the perception of mph) locked the front tire and I was getting all out of shape.