Off Topic A place for you CBR junkies to boldly go off topic. Almost anything goes.

What Truck?

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2010, 08:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What Truck?

So Ive have been wanting a truck for sometime now and I have pretty much drove cars my whole life (except for the gas hog Jeep Grand Cherokee im driving now)...I want to buy a decent truck that if need be I can put my F4i in the bed and take a trip. I want something that will not eat my whole paycheck for gas so I can start saving a bit. Like anyone else I want something dependable and gas friendly. I was leaning toward something like an S-10 or a Ranger( For the benefit of cheap gas plus i like the body styles of them). Kind of wanted something with the backseat/bench capability. I am a college student so I dont have a ton of money to begin with. Not too sure how much I want/can afford to spend yet but i was thinking somewhere around 4-6K. Any Recommendations???

Old 03-13-2010, 09:05 AM

Ranger or S-10 is probably going to be your only real option. A gutless 4 cylinder too, because even the V6 get "terrible" mpgs.

FWIW, I love my F-150 and even with the 5.5' bed, my F2 fit in it just fine. It isn't gas friendly though... no truck really is.

Might be able to find a Tacoma in decent shape. That would be an option too.

Old 03-13-2010, 09:10 AM

Yeah I know those were pretty much my only 2 options lol...I just wanted to get some advice and some different perspectives maybe if anyone had experience etc...thanks!

Old 03-13-2010, 09:13 AM

I had a 97 Ranger. It was a decent truck. 5 spd and 4 cyl. Slow as dog turds. Bed was decent size though. Never had a bike in it but I am sure you could. It wasn't the extended cab though. My buddy had one but those only had two "jump" seats in the back. Not much room.

You probably could find an older F-150 in decent shape in your price range that is extended cab. Might be better size wise. Won't be better on gas though.